• Brain-Body-Wisdom
  • Posts
  • We have a speed limit on our learning(here is how to learn 10x faster)

We have a speed limit on our learning(here is how to learn 10x faster)

I always was a bad learner and didn’t pay attention.

At least I thought.

This was until I had to present a project at school.

Then there were eyes on me and I wanted to show that I’m a nobody.

I had urgency. I was engaged.

This was the first moment where I realized I was not using my potential.

I thought to myself:

'We're learning the wrong way.'

The speed limit learning cycle

We are driving 50 km/h on a 120 km/h driveway.

Currently, we are very used to learning in a systematic pattern.

This means we have to read books, memorize them, and complete tests. That's how the system works. Some are better at it and some are not.

By this system, we are wasting our potential, but using one angle to learn.

However, we are in a creator economy.

To take part you have to acquire skills. Because you can leverage your skills, help others and monetize them.

To acquire skills you not only have to know the theory but especially practical skills.

Theory without experience is just theory. It is not applied. It is not molded into your version.

Especially because learning can be fun and thrilling.

Heightened learning

I remember the moment I taught my first movement class quite vividly.

It was on a Monday and it was outside near our dojo.

My heart was increasing by the minute before I had to teach.

I was teaching in English so that was another factor that raised the stakes.

‘Can I do it?’
‘Won’t I fail’
‘What if I do not show it correctly?’

A lot of worries and stress went through my body just before we started the class.

I wanted to perform, I wanted to do good, and I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.

The class went by in a second and I experienced something very strange afterward.

There was enormous power running through my body. My brain was lit up with ideas, new insights, and strong observations.

In the days after my English was much better.

I experienced learning to its fullest.

These were the benefits:

  • Memorized information 10x easier

  • Full engagement

  • Information because knowledge

  • English improved

  • Build new connections in the brain

  • Creativity amplified

One of the keywords here is engagement.

Being engaged allows for a real integration of the information that you're trying to absorb.

So we want to aim for engagement.

But how do we become more engaged?

Let me help you with that.

The power of neuroplasticity

To live fully is to engage fully.

We are living in Ferraris only we are shitty drivers.

What do I mean by that?

Your body and brain are phenomena that are made to adapt. That's part of our survival mechanism. To adapt to our surroundings.

In this adaptivity lies an ocean of untapped potential.

The term that I'm dropping here is neuroplasticity.

This is the ability of our brain to adapt to change.

“Where attention goes, neural firing flows, and neural connection grows.”

― Daniel J. Siegel

For example:

You're following your routine of getting up, grabbing coffee, going to work, coming home, eating, and sleeping.

But you're going to add writing to your routine because it sparks your interest.

You're frustrated in the beginning, because you’re producing word diarrhea.

Over time you become better.

Eventually, you're able to quit your job because your writing is so freaking good.

This is neuroplasticity.

It changed to the input you gave it.

I know that is wild.

Now I'm going to share 9 secrets to enhance your learning.

9 ways to enhance your learning

After this learning will never be the same.

Apply these methods to escape mediocracy.

Ready?

Use fear

Fear amplifies the usage of adrenaline.

Adrenaline is needed for us to focus.

So use fear to your advantage:

Here's a little trick:

Walk around the room with your eyes closed for 1 min.

Not get to work.

Use your fear instead of it using you.

Reverse engineer

Dismantling a skill is how you do not become overwhelmed when you're learning a new skill.

This gives you clarity and structure.

I'm learning storytelling.

Make it easy for yourself or make it hard for yourself.

You choose.

Putting in the reps

Escaping reps is escaping a fulfilling life.

The secret to putting in the reps?

There is no secret.

Learn writing = write daily
Learn how to code = write code daily
Building a greater physique = exercise (daily)

Learn to love it, because the fulfillment is in the reps.

Create analogies

Ever wondered why mnemonics are so powerful?

It builds associations in your brain:

  • Easier to memorize information

  • Easier to use information

The fastest way to create an analogy?

Draw.

Drawing forces you to visualize your thinking.

The better the drawing, the better the understanding.

The 80/20 zone

There is a sweet spot for learning.

The goldilocks zone:

80% success
20% failure

Start looking at people who are 1 or 2 steps in front of you.

Observe and implement what they do.

It’ll make things much easier.

Rest

You have a supercomputer that you 90% of the time neglect.

The Default Mode Network.

What does it do?

  • Stimulates more creativity

  • Increases memory

  • Gives more perspectives

When is it active?

When you rest.

So rest.

Ask for feedback, a lot

Having 1-on-1 feedback is better than having 1.000 followers.

Why?

You'll get questions and answers that you wouldn't ask yourself.

This helps notice blindspots.

Convert those into learnings = excelled learning.

Celebrate small wins

Peak learning is not focusing on going from 1-100.

It's focusing on going from 1-2.

The compound effect.

Focus on fewer tasks with greater effort for that 1% better every time.

That's how you pull levers.

Get mentors

Learning from those who came before you is a proven shortcut to success.

It's how I got 1000+ hours of movement practice under my belt.

Picking a good mentor:

  • Trust

  • A process, not instant results

  • Focused on helping you

Let a mentor show you what's possible.

Implementation

Enough with the chit-chat.

Time for you to start using these elements.

Pick one of these ways and start grinding on it for a month.

Observe your insights and lessons. Write them down.

After a month reflect on what it gave you. Then move on to the next.

The only way you learn is by taking action.

Summary

  • The problems with our current learning methods

  • Heightened learning

  • The art of neuroplasticity

  • 9 ways to enhance your learning

Amplifying your learning is a thrilling feeling.

You will start to see differently. Both the external and the internal landscape.

No longer will you be a passenger, you will be the driver.

You will be engaged.

Fully.

And that's what matters.

Hope you enjoyed it and take care!

See you next time.

- Tim