The Art of Stretching

And that's coming from a guy who was a stiff as a board.

We all want to have good-looking bodies.

We all want to feel super energized.

We all want to be able to do a freestanding handstand.

But you don't know how to get it. Or you think you do.

I'm going to take you in on a little secret. There is one thing you can do that will help you. But first I want to take you on a little journey.

I've been playing soccer ever since I was a kid. Showing up on the grass, playing the perfect match, and scoring a goal were beautiful elements of the game.

But when I was 17 years, soccer was no longer my friend. It was my enemy. I got injured in a way that a lot of other soccer players experience as well. A knee injury that damaged a piece of cartilage.

After 9 months of rehabilitation, I was back on the pitch. 'Finally, I thought'. But unfortunately, after 3 months of playing again bad luck hit me again. This time the ACL was torn and the meniscus damaged. Also, my outer knee ligament stretched.

After almost 9 years of not addressing this injury, it was time for a change. I got surgery and followed rehabilitation. Another motive for me to have surgery is because I wanted to practice Movement. Following the Ido Portal Method.

So again looking at 9 months of rehabilitation and all I could think of is 'I want to do movement'. After those hard and long months, I could finally step into the dojo. This feeling was priceless.

But shortly after another feeling arose. I'm stiff as f*ck. Holy cow, that was a brutal truth to face. I knew I wasn't the most flexible guy, but this was unreal.

Because I wasn't aware how much stretching would impact my life in the years after. There are 5 elements that changed my life after focusing on stretching and flexibility. It will change your life too.

Let's deep dive:

1) Improvement in physical performance

When stretching became a part of my program it became a part of me. I hated stretching, now I'm curious about where it brings me. And it brought me to some places.

Some highlights of how more flexibility improved my performance:

  • Able to hold a Free HS for 40+ easy -> my record is at 60+ seconds

  • Overhead mobility increased by 1000%

  • I can almost place my hand fully on the ground while keeping the leg straight -> 2 years I ago I couldn't get past my knees

  • 324.745 more options when doing floor work or locomotion

2) Increase in range of motion

The definition of flexibility = the range of movement. Very straightforward. But why would an increase in the range of movement be beneficial to you?

Imagine you're walking home. You pick out the keys to open the door to your house. They fall. You're going to pick them up, and then *POP*. Lower back injury.

Due to the fact that your body was not ready for the movement, you injured yourself. You lacked a certain range of movement and strength in your end range.

My overhead flexibility and mobility were shit. But by emphasizing on increasing the end range and strengthening the end range I grew a lot stronger.

Like a lot.

"Flexibility is the key to stability"

John Wooden

3) Building a harness within the body

Experiencing injuries is not fun. There are shit. Yet, they can be prevented.

We do this by preparing the body for moments like picking up the keys where you could get injured. In those moments we are improperly aligned. So we focus on building a 'harness' in the body.

How?

By addressing the major joints in the body via stretching techniques. Think of major joints like;

  • Neck

  • Spine

  • Elbows

  • Wrists

  • Knees

  • Pelvis

  • Shoulder

  • Hands.

By now you are curious to know how to create a harness in the body? Stick to the end to find out.

4) More calmness in the body

In stretching there is a phenomenon called the 'stretch reflex'. This means the amount of contraction that is happening within a muscle that is passively stretched.

To increase your range you want to lower the amount of contraction. You do this by breathing. You do this by continuously breathing or breathing out longer than you breath in.

Imagine focusing on your breath quite a lot to stimulate your end range. What will happen?

Your body will calm down more. And not only in the stretch itself. No, it will be calmer in life itself. And when your body is calmer, you will be calmer.

Can you see the influence?

5) Reduced fatigue

There is something interesting about stretching. Your muscles use an amount of energy to move. This happens when they contract.

And to make it clear your muscles do not contract more or contract less. They use fewer motor units if you relax more. But why is this important for fatiqueness?

When you move you use a main working muscle(agonist) and an opposing muscle(antagonist). By making the antagonist more flexible the main working muscle doesn't need to use as much force to perform the movement.

So becoming more flexible results in less energy used to perform movements.

Less energy-using means longer performance.

How to start

There are many forms of stretching. Here is a quick list:

  • Static Stretching

  • Dynamic Stretching

  • Loaded Progressive Stretching

  • Ballistic Stretching

  • Wushu Stretching

  • PNF Stretching Techniques

The one I've been working a lot with is: Loaded Progressive Stretching(LPS). Take a look at the example given here:

This is a demonstration/tutorial on how to progressively overload the hamstrings.

By using gravity as an instrument you lengthen the muscle that is being stretched; the hamstrings. By using the upper body weight the hamstrings will become stronger in the end range. You can also use weight in Loaded Progressive Stretching.

With this method, you're building strength in the end range as I mentioned before. Benefits:

  • Create a harness in the body which protects you from unforeseen scenarios.

  • Increase in end range

  • Adjusting dosage quite easily

  • Building up a process of growth

This is one way of stretching that I wanted to highlight, but it all depends on what your body requires. And on which body part you want to be more flexible.

To summarize

By becoming more flexible you have a greater range of movement and you can perform better. With this increase in performance, you're able to move more and better.

What will happen if you move more and better? Your physique changes. On the inside and outside. Imagine the possibilities.

Thank you for reading and if you have any questions feel free to reach out!